navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Poskay Named Bud Light MLL Most Valuable Player

March 18, 2016

Boston, Mass. (August 19, 2010) –Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Thursday that Boston Cannon attackman Matt Poskay has been selected as the 2010 Bud Light MLL Most Valuable Player, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the League’s six teams.
This marks the fifth consecutive year that the Bud Light MVP winner is also the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year. It was announced Tuesday that Poskay earned the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year award.
Poskay, a 2006 graduate of the University of Virginia, was picked by the Boston Cannons with the 12 th overall selection in the MLL Collegiate Draft.  Poskay became an immediate star and scoring threat for the Cannons.  Over his first three seasons, he averaged 27 goals per season.  Then in early 2009, Poskay had a major personal set-back when he was diagnosed with testicular cancer.  Poskay would not allow the cancer treatments to stand in his way of playing lacrosse.  He would receive his treatments and get just enough rest during the week to be able to play for the Cannons on the weekends.  He finished the 2009 season with 15 goals in 7 games played.
This season, Poskay moved from midfield to attack to give the Cannons more fire power. The move paid off immediately, as Poskay scored at least 4 goals in each of the Cannons' first 5 games.  His scoring prowess continued allowing Poskay to score a league leading 45 goals and 52 points in 12 games. The attackman has now scored a team record of 140 goals in 51 career games and set the Cannons’ single season team record at 45 goals.
Poskay significantly impacted the Cannons’ score sheet, tallying four or more goals in seven games on the season while retaining a shooting percentage of 45.9%. He was named as the Bud Light Game MVP twice during the regular season and took home MLL Offensive Player of the Week honors following a four goal performance in the season opener.
This marks the second time in Boston’s history that the Bud Light MVP award has been given to a Cannons’ player in back-to-back seasons. In 2004, Conor Gill became the first Cannon to receive the honor and Mark Millon was the second the following year. Last season Paul Rabil brought the award back to the Cannons.
Poskay earned five first place votes for a total of 31 points. Long Island’s Matt Danowski finished second for the award with 24 points while Denver’s Max Seibald was third with 10 points.
All-Time MLL Bud Light MVPs
2001              Ryan Powell, Rochester
2002              Greg Cattrano, Baltimore
2003              Jay Jalbert, Long Island
2004              Conor Gill, Boston
2005              Gary Gait, Baltimore
                        Mark Millon, Boston
2006              Ryan Powell, San Francisco
2007              John Grant Jr., Rochester
2008              John Grant Jr., Rochester
2009              Paul Rabil, Boston
2010              Matt Poskay, Boston
The 2010 MLL scoring leader will be expected to be an impact player in Boston’s semifinal game as the #1 seed Cannons take on the #4 seed Chesapeake Bayhawks in the first playoff game on Saturday, August 21 at 12:00 PM ET. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2HD.
The winner of Saturday’s two semifinals will advance to the Championship Game at 1 PM ET on Sunday, August 22.
The 2010 Major League Lacrosse Championship Weekend Presented by Warrior takes place at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, one of the nation’s premier athletic venues.   Tailgating is permitted for both Saturday and Sunday beginning 9:00 AM.  A number of great attractions will be featured in the fan zone on both days, , the Warrior Lacrosse Chop Shop, musical performances by MAD PLANET, Bud Light Build-A-Bar, face painting and other activities for fans.
Tickets for the 2010 Championship Weekend presented by Warrior are still available. Complete MLL Championship Weekend packages which include tickets to all three playoff games start at just $30 and may be purchased by calling 866-MLL-TIXX or by visiting   Single day tickets will go on sale beginning Sunday, August 15 and will cost $20.
About Anheuser-Busch
Based in St. Louis, Anheuser‑Busch is the leading American brewer, holding a 49.2 percent share of U.S. beer sales. The company brews the world’s largest-selling beers, Budweiser and Bud Light. Anheuser‑Busch also owns a 50 percent share in Grupo Modelo, Mexico’s leading brewer. Anheuser-Busch ranked No. 1 among beverage companies in FORTUNE Magazine’s Most Admired Global Companies list in 2009. Anheuser‑Busch is one of the largest theme park operators in the United States, is a major manufacturer of aluminum cans and one of the world’s largest recyclers of aluminum cans. The company is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Anheuser-Busch InBev, the leading global brewer, and continues to operate under the Anheuser-Busch name and logo. For more information, visit
About Major League Lacrosse
Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, commenced play in June of 2001. The MLL is comprised of six teams located in Boston, Chesapeake, Chicago, Denver, Long Island, and Toronto. The season will culminate with the 2010 MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior, which will take place on Saturday and Sunday, August 21 and 22 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland. 
Major League Lacrosse was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. For more information, please visit the Official League website at