Collegiate Draft Set for January 13

By MLL PR |  10/17/11 2:20 PM

Collegiate Draft Set for January 13

Monday, October 17, 2011

Major League Lacrosse Contact
Aly Morrissey, Marketing & PR Manager


2012 MLL Collegiate Draft Set for January 13th in Philadelphia, Pa.

BOSTON, MA – Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Monday it will host the 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft in Philadelphia, Pa. on Friday, January 13. The draft will take place at the Philadelphia Marriott at the US Lacrosse National Convention. This will be the 12th Collegiate Draft in MLL history.

The first two picks will go to the 2012 expansion teams, which were revealed at the 2011 MLL Collegiate Draft in Baltimore, Md.  The Charlotte Hounds will select first and the Ohio Machine will select second. The order was determined by a coin toss prior to the 2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior. The signature event will be streamed live on the MLL website where fans can discuss selections through MLL’s live blog and chat.

The MLL Collegiate Draft will conclude the league’s series of drafts including the Expansion Draft on December 7, 2011 and the Supplemental Draft on December 14, 2011. The protected rosters were announced on October 12. Any player left unprotected will be up for grabs in the Expansion Draft.

2012 First Round Draft Order:

1. Charlotte

2. Ohio

3. Rochester

4. Long Island

5. Chesapeake

6. Denver

7. Hamilton

8. Ohio (from Boston)

First Overall Collegiate Draft Picks:

2001 – Ryan Mollett, Rochester Rattlers (Princeton)
2002 – Josh Coffman, Rochester Rattlers (Syracuse)
2003 – Chris Rotelli, Bridgeport Barrage (Virginia)
2004 – Mikey Powell, Baltimore Bayhawks (Syracuse)
2005 – Kyle Harrison, New Jersey Pride (Johns Hopkins)
2006 – Joe Walters, Rochester Rattlers (Maryland)
2007 – Pat Heim, Chicago Machine (Penn State)
2008 – Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins)
2009 – Kenny Nims, Chicago Machine (Syracuse)
2010 – Ned Crotty, Chicago Machine (Duke)
2011 – Kevin Crowley, Hamilton Nationals (Stony Brook)

All time MLL Collegiate Draft Results

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft will take place on January 13, 2012 in Philadelphia, Pa. The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter.

04/23 7:30PM EST @ Hounds Buy Tickets More Info
04/30 7:00PM EST vs Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
05/12 7:30PM EST @ Bayhawks More Info
05/14 7:00PM EST vs Rattlers Buy Tickets More Info
05/21 7:00PM EST vs Machine Buy Tickets More Info
05/28 8:30PM EST @ Outlaws More Info
06/04 7:00PM EST @ Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
06/11 7:00PM EST vs Hounds Buy Tickets More Info
06/18 7:00PM EST @ Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
06/23 7:30PM EST vs Bayhawks Buy Tickets More Info
07/02 5:00PM EST @ Rattlers More Info
07/15 7:00PM EST @ Machine Buy Tickets More Info
07/30 6:30PM EST vs Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
08/06 5:00PM EST vs Launch Buy Tickets More Info
Sign up to receive the latest MLL news and information.